IRQ Articles

SIR and SIR Foundation honorees 

04-24-2020 09:07

SIR honorees

Women in IR Champion Award

This award recognizes an individual who has consistently made a significant contribution to the advancement of women in IR, such as through sponsorship, mentorship, teaching, promotion, advocacy and recruitment.

Meridith Englander, MD, FSIR, is an interventional radiologist at the Albany Stratton Veterans Affairs Medical Center and associate professor at Albany Medical College. She is co-founder of the SIR Women in Interventional Radiology (WIR) Section and served as the chair from 2015–2018.

Editor's Awards for Outstanding Research

The Journal of Vascular and Interventional Radiology (JVIR) confers awards for exceptional research published in the journal in two categories: clinical research and laboratory investigation. The winning manuscripts are selected after a rigorous review of all JVIR articles published in the preceding year, voted on by the present editors and decided on by the editor-in-chief. The chosen articles represent research that may substantially impact the IR community at present or in the future. See more research and reviewer honorees in the May issue of JVIR.

Outstanding Clinical Study

Belina A. Mohr, PhD—“Clinical and Economic Benefits of Stent Grafts in Dysfunctional and Thrombosed Hemodialysis Access Graft Circuits in the REVISE Randomized Trial.”

Outstanding Laboratory Investigation

Yuchen Huo, MA—“Stress Conditions Induced by Locoregional Therapies Stimulate Enrichment and Proliferation of Liver Cancer Stem Cells."

SIR Foundation honorees

Leaders in Innovation Award

This award recognizes and promotes innovation within IR and acknowledges individuals who have conceptualized and implemented an idea that has had an impact on the practice of IR.

John Abele, FSIR, is a co-founder and director of Boston Scientific Corporation and an early pioneer and leader in the field of minimally invasive medicine. He is an Honorary Fellow of the society, and received the SIR Gold Medal in 2005 and SIR Foundation’s Frederick S. Keller, MD, Philanthropy Award in 2019. Mr. Abele’s interests focus on encouraging science literacy for children, promoting education and the process by which new technology is invented, developed and introduced to society.

Frederick S. Keller, MD, Philanthropy Award

This award honors an individual who shows exceptional generosity, inspiration to others to give and demonstrates outstanding commitment to the foundation.

Janette D. Durham, MD, MBA, FSIR, is chair of the department of medical imaging at the University of Arizona College of Medicine. She is a past-president of SIR and a long-time member of the SIR Executive Council and SIR Foundation Board of Directors.

Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award

This award honors the founding editor of JVIR by promoting excellence in academic research for young practitioners. Each year the award is given to the author of the most outstanding clinical science research paper submitted.

Osman Ahmed, MD, is an assistant professor in the vascular and IR section at the University of Chicago, the social media editor for JVIR and a graduate of SIR’s 2019 Leadership Development Academy. He was also recognized by JVIR as a top reviewer from 2016–2018.

Dr. Constantin Cope Medical Student Research Award

This award recognizes the student author of an accepted abstract that best honors the spirit of inventiveness and scientific purity.

  • Comparison of embolic-associated immune response in a translational model of hepatocellular carcinoma and transarterial embolization—Alexey Gurevich, BS, MS, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
  • Y-90 endovascular radiosurgery for the treatment of glioblastoma multiforme: A pilot study in a canine model—Sasicha Manupipatpong, BS, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
  • Genicular artery anatomy: Angiographic analysis from two U.S. clinical trials—Abin Sajan, BS, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn
  • Iodinated coating of decayed Y-90 microspheres to improve radiopacity with cone beam CT—Colin Woolard, BS, Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk

SIR Foundation Resident/Fellow Award

Designed to recognize high-quality research by trainees, this award is granted to young researchers who wish to further their careers in IR.

  • Effect of bridging locoregional therapy on hepatic arterial complications following liver transplant: 3-year, multi-center, retrospective analysis of 608 patients—Taylor Morris, MD, Ochsner Clinic Foundation, Jefferson, La.
  • Cutting balloon followed by drug eluting balloon angioplasty for recurrent venous lesions in dialysis access; interim analysis of a single arm prospective observational study—Zehao Tan, MD, FRCR, The National Medical Research Council (NMRC), Singapore
  • In-stent restenosis after lower extremity venous stent placement: A large retrospective single-center analysis—Tarub Mabud, MD, MSc, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York


This article is part of Connecting Everywhere, a special section of the spring 2020 IR Quarterly, highlighting how SIR and IRs have responded to the global COVID-19 crisis with teamwork, agility and innovation.

Connect with SIR